Crumbys Bakery: Real Story behind the CRUMBYS

m.barutcu
3 min readJul 27, 2021

--

Crumbys Bakery

Hello, My name is Memo, I’m an artist from Germany. You might know me better as my pseudonym, mbarutcu. I’ve been a 3D artist for more than 15 years and I love working in this medium. For me, it’s more than just a job, it’s my passion and my hobby. However, this post is not about me, it’s about the real story behind the creation of Crumbys.

A lot of people have asked me how exactly I got into designing cookies. Maybe it’s because they find them cute and funny to look at, or perhaps they just want to eat them! The truth is, there’s a sad story behind it.

Growing up in Germany, racism was the single biggest challenge I had to overcome. Although my younger brother and I were both born in Germany, our family heritage was Turkish. Back then, it wasn’t easy going about your day to day life without being scowled at or looked down upon. Unfortunately, it didn’t stop at cold glances, we were also victims of racist slurs and physical violence.
Despite this adversity, we never treated anyone differently. We believe that everyone is the same.

As a result of these childhood experiences, I have chosen to make Crumbys with many different colours of skin. I hope that they can eventually reach every corner of the world. After all, it doesn’t matter where you are from, it’s your character that counts.

Truthfully, the Crumbys were also shaped by a second part of my childhood. My brother and I were both avid fans of the Shrek film series. We would watch them together as often as we could. Our favourite character was the cute gingerbread man, Gingy. We would pester our mother every day to make us different colours of dough and marzipan to create our own Gingys, just like in the film. My brother was also a huge fan of Robocop and owned so many toys from the series, he would even try to make his own Robocop-Gingy! Once we had finished making them, we use to make them fight against each other, until we got in trouble from our mother! I know that you shouldn’t play with your food, but those are some of the fondest memories I have with my brother.
Tragically, my little brother died in February 2016.

Not a day goes by where I don’t think about him, and I miss him more than I could ever put into words, no matter how much time has passed. So, for these two reasons, I was inspired to create Crumbys as a work of 3D art and offer them as part of my collection.
Crumbys-Bakery collection is particularly important to me personally, it allows me to reflect on my past and relive the memories I treasure so deeply with my late brother.

--

--

m.barutcu

3D-Artist, Mechanic of Cryptoairships, Baker of Crumbys. NFt-Creator and Collector.